Square Peg in a Round Hole

imgres

“Everything happens for a reason!” This is a phrase we’ve all heard before and one we can probably agree with.  But do we believe it?

I’ve often wondered why some situations never turn out the way we want them to, despite our best efforts.  While other times, opportunities show up unexpectedly and things work out favorably, without even trying!

It’s difficult to know the difference between what’s meant for us and what isn’t.  So, I’d like to share some insights, based on personal experience, that have helped in determining when something I’d been pursuing was not meant to be.

ABSENCE OF INNER PEACE

This is a huge predictor whether to continue to pursue something or not.  When your stomach is in knots, your mind feels jumbled with troubled thoughts, and you’re feeling anxious, that’s the ABSENCE of inner peace!

That unsettling feeling inside of you is trying to tell you “PERHAPS, THIS IS NOT RIGHT!”  Take a step back. NOTHING is worth compromising your inner peace!

FITTING A SQUARE PEG IN A ROUND HOLE

This idiom is used when one tries to “fit in”.  But why do we insist on something working out, when after multiple attempts, it’s clearly not happening?

When you give something your ALL and it backfires repeatedly, give up the need to try and “fit that square peg in that round hole.” Gracefully accept it’s not for you.  In the end, you’ll be glad you did!

MOVING AGAINST THE FLOW

Flow is the precursor for things that ARE meant to be. So, it’s crucial to follow the natural flow of things and respect it.  Give up the need to control. In time, the RIGHT thing will come your way!

ALL THE WRONG REASONS

When someone else wants something for you MORE than you want it for yourself.  This can be a problem! Remember in the end, ONLY YOU will be living with the decisions YOU make.

Seek God’s guidance first, then follow your heart. Afterwards, trust that you’re WISE enough to decide what’s right for YOU.  Remember that YOU ARE the captain of your own ship!

FORCING WHAT’S NOT THERE

The best things are never forced or done out of an ultimatum.  Every time I have chosen to “force something” it’s never had a good outcome. Keep in mind that what’s TRULY meant for you, does not need to be forced!

FINAL THOUGHTS

I know it takes COURAGE to walk away from something that no longer serves you in a positive manner.  BUT YOU ARE WORTH IT!

Always remember that walking away doesn’t make you defeated.

MAYBE IT WAS JUST NOT PART OF YOUR STORY TO BEGIN WITH!

 

15 thoughts on “Square Peg in a Round Hole

  1. I believe in inner peace. It is something I strive for on a daily basis. Flow is in my life and it is true, sometimes things work themselves out. I try to stay positive and hope for the best!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. It’s hard to walk away from something you want but if it doesn’t serve you well no matter how many times you’ve tried, then it’s better to leave it as is. Thanks for this wonderful reminder! Your posts are really encouraging! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This is true advice. I think we do create our realities with our thoughts and desires. So if you’re in an undesirable situation, it can be hard to get out of it. Sometimes the flow will just pop you out of it. It did for me, and even though I was actually in a harder situation after that… with time and meditation, it became much better! Not that life is perfect for me now, so it’s still great to take the advice of really considering what is serving me positively and what isn’t.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Such an inspiring post. I can relate to all of these but the ‘peg’ and the ‘flow’ are two that I’ve experienced way too many times. I do believe things happen for a reason only because I have seen the end results so many times. My faith in God has seen me through so many struggles and I’m thankful for every one. I’ve learned! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

