Newfound Wanderlust

IMG_6143.JPG

I’ve been wanting to travel to Europe ever since I can remember.  It has always been a dream of mine since my early twenties.  And back then I did start planning such a trip, but then life got in the way.  My life then followed the “usual” progression. Go to college, get married, and have children.  So my dreams were placed in the back burner.  Then in my early thirties, I once again pondered visiting this wonderful continent, but raising babies is not an easy task and one that I wasn’t willing to trust to anyone, even if it was only for 10 days!  So once again, I postponed my travel dreams.

It wasn’t until this past year that I truly felt ready!  My kids no longer need me, at least not in the same way.  And as for all my other responsibilities, well I found the courage to put them all on pause.

For 10 days and 9 nights two friends and I ventured off to Europe visiting many cities in Spain and even made time for a two-day hiatus in Paris, France!

We ate their rich foods, tasted their wines, and mingled with the warm people of their country.  We walked up and down the streets with an ice cream in one hand and shopping bags in the other.  We shopped till we dropped, ate till our bellies ached and barely slept!  We felt free and giddy!

They say timing is everything and so my time had come!  I had run out of “reasons” and logical explanations as to why I “couldn’t” go.

Now my very long awaited European adventure has been realized!

As I wake this morning, my heart feels full and joyous for I have returned to my home surrounded by family, friends, and my dogs.

But most importantly, I have returned with a soul that has been renewed and rejuvenated!  For this adventure, has given me so much more than I ever dreamed possible!

Today, I find myself having a new appreciation for life and a newfound wanderlust!  And now my life will never be the same!

And as for my next adventure, I am certain of one thing . . .

I won’t wait this long!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Newfound Wanderlust

Leave a Reply

