The Power of Reciprocity

FullSizeRender.jpg

 

The other night a good friend and I decided to meet up for dinner for some “girl time.” We met at one of my favorite Mexican restaurants close by and this is what happened next . . .

As we walk in I noticed a familiar face sitting at a nearby table.  Sure enough, she was a friend I knew back in high school that I hadn’t seen in years.

As I approached her table to say hello she was equally surprised to see me. We chatted for about 10 minutes before I took a seat at another table across the room.

Back in high school . . .

I met her my sophomore year.  She was always kind to me, although I remember she was a bit shy and reserved.  At that time, she had just moved from a different country and didn’t know the language much.  Looking back now, maybe that was the reason behind her reservation. We weren’t very close nor were we the kind of friends that would go out together after school or even talk on the phone. Of course that was back when the only phone we had was the one on the kitchen wall!  I do remember however,  we often talked during school hours.  I also remember that I helped her several times with the language barrier, not thinking much about it then.

Back at the restaurant, my high school friend is finished with her dinner and while she proceeds to leave, she looks over at me with a big smile and waves.  I of course waved back with a big smile too.

This is when it all changed for me . . .

Our waiter approached our table to bring over our check and to say, “your tab has been paid in full.”

I was expecting an itemized check with a total sum for our dinner.  But what I saw instead was a note that read, “I will always be grateful to you.”   Signed by my high school friend.

My head began to spin, trying to go back in time in hopes that I could figure out what I had said or done that made this kind of impact!

And so, I began to recall moments in time.

I thought perhaps it was the time I helped her with the language barrier.

Or maybe, it was my acceptance of her in a time where peer pressure and the need to fit in meant everything.

Although I may never know what prompted her to write such beautiful words or do such a kind gesture, I do know this . . .

Don’t underestimate the power of love, kindness, and helping others.

Because what we put out will ALWAYS, ALWAYS come back around!

 

 

 

 

 

25 thoughts on “The Power of Reciprocity

  1. That was a beautiful story and not a surprise ending for me. When you talked about helping her in high school, the ways in which you helped her, the outcome is expected. I keep in mind how important it is for self-love and self-acceptance to live the life of your best self. You become a benefit for others on their journey as much as you are for yourself on yours. Thank you so much for sharing this experience with us.

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

